Earning my morning cup of coffee

One thing on my wishlist when we were looking for a house was a yard with mature trees.  I certainly got my wish.  There are seven huge trees (mostly maples) on our property.  They are beautiful.  They also mean lots and lots (and lots and lots) of leaves.  I raked a couple of times during our first week here and then realized it was a pointless job since the leaves fell as fast as I could rake.  So we played the waiting game and let the leaves pile up.

Yesterday I looked up and realized that the leaves were mostly gone (and most of our neighbors have raked*), so this morning, after dropping A off at school, I rolled up my sleeves and got to work.

And boy, was it work.  I had to use the wheelbarrow to move leaves from the side closest to the house.  By the time I finished, my arms were shaking and it was all I could do not to Google leaf blowers.  I did, however, feel like a homeowner.

The gigantic backyard will have to wait for another day.

*Did I just admit to comparing our yard to the neighbors’?

Posted in Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “Earning my morning cup of coffee

Leave a Reply

