Oh, just stuff

Wow, I’m horrible at this.  It is the 11th of November and I have written a handful of posts, two of which involve raking.  (On the upside, I did finally write another letter to A.)

I’m going to do this in bullet form simply because I’d rather be sleeping right now:

  • My super generous older brother got me a Kindle for my birthday (my generous parents also threw in a bit extra so I could get the 3G version).  So far, I love it.  I really do.  I love how easy e-ink is to read (I am already sufficiently blind thanks to spending many hours each day staring at my computer screen).  I love sharing books with my brothers.  What I don’t love, however, is having to pay $10 or so per book.  Our library has spoiled me and I am paralyzed with indecision having to choose a book that I actually have to spend money to read.  So far, I have read a lot of sample chapters from books and have bought none.
  • One of my classes has been kicking everyone’s butt to the point of a near-mutiny.  I have remained relatively calm about it all, despite the many (MANY) of review sessions and pity sessions it takes for me to complete an assignment and the fact that I understand nothing.  Tonight, however, I abruptly realized that the second midterm is NEXT WEEK, I may not be able to make all the review sessions, and dude, WHAT AM I GOING TO DOOOOOO?!?!?  (I tend to have late reactions to things.)  But seriously, I am getting extremely panicky.
  • I’ve read 2 2/3 books for pleasure (not counting all of the sample chapters) the last few days, something I have not done in what seems like ages: Emma Donoghue’s Room, Dave Eggers’ Zeitoun, and Andre Agassi’s Open.  I didn’t finish Room and I’m not sure if I will.  I did, however, just love the other two books.  I expected to appreciate Zeitoun (and did, a lot), but did not even expect to get more than a few pages into Open, as I have absolutely no interest in tennis.  My brother got it because he really loved J.R. Moehringer’s The Tender Bar and Moehringer ghost-wrote Open.  I like Moehringer and I was desperate enough to read a book on the Kindle that I started it.  And then I could not put it down.  It was compelling (even all the descriptions of his matches!) and moving.  I have to admit that I didn’t want the book to end and Googled Agassi interviews for a good day or two after finishing the book because I just wanted to know more.  Agassi never asks you to like him and yet you can’t help but root for him, on the court and off.
  • P’s mom gave us a feather-bed and I was thrilled, since our bed is fairly uncomfortable (you can feel the springs against your lower back).  The bed is now heavenly to climb into but I wake up sore every morning.  I know I should probably just take it off but it feels so good to GET in bed that I’m just willing my body to get used to the softer surface.
  • I only added that last point because it felt lame to end at three when two were about the same topic.
  • Fifth point is even more lame.
  • Goodnight!
Leave a Reply

